Home

About Us

President's Message

Minutes

Publications

Meetings

Observing

Image Gallery

Join Here

Sidewalk Astronomy

Public Outreach

Kids Astronomy Club

What's Up

Raffle

| Observatory |

Links & Other Centres

Weather

Clear Sky Clocks

Buy & Sell

Contacts




RASC OK Centre
Coming Meetings


Vernon meeting Wed. September 25

Time: Novice meeting - 6.30pm  Regular Meeting - 7.15pm

The pre-meeting novice presentation will feature Murray Hainer and Jim Kanester with Deep Sky Objects: Photographing and Observing. They will use Murray's images  to talk about what you might see in a small scope and where you might find those Deep Sky Objects in the night sky.
.

The main presentation will feature  The Okanagan Science Centre's new Planitarium and Space for 
Space Exhibit
with OSC Executive Director Jim Swingle. Jim will discuss the design period for new exhibits and the fundraising campaign for the upgrade.

The pre-meeting begins at 6:30 PM in the Heritage Hall of the Okanagan Science Centre (building to the right of the main Science Centre entrance on the northeast side of Polson Park just off Highway 6).

Penticton meeting Thurs. October 10

Time: 7:15pm  Location: Okanagan College, Penticton

The Main Program will feature Jim Kanester speaking about his Monthly Observing Challenges and 
Remote Imaging with the RASC Remote Telescope and ITelescope.
Jim will discuss how he selects them both for observing and astrophotography. This will provide a good introduction to amateur seasonal observing. Jim will also talk about his experience with remote imaging and show some of his images of previous Challenges photographed via the remote scopes.


 The meeting will be held at 7.15pm in the C O2 meeting room in the Sunoka building 
of the Penticton campus of Okanagan College.



Kelowna  meeting Tues. October 15

Time: 7:30pm.  Location: Okanagan College, KLO Road, Kelowna. Room 368.

Watch this space for details on the October Kelowna meeting.

The meeting will be at 7:30pm in Room 368 at the Okanagan College KLO Campus.

Vernon Meeting Group
OSC
- Okanagan Science Centre
2704 Hwy 6, Vernon
See map

Kelowna Meeting Group
Okanagan College
- Science building
KLO Road, Kelowna. 
See map


Penticton  Meeting Group
Okanagan College
- Sunoka Building
583 Duncan Ave. W. Penticton

See map

Meetings held in Kelowna on the  dates indicated  
at the
Okanagan College Science Building KLO Road


                -- Summer Break --

Tues. September 17, 2019        7:30 at OC
Tues. October 15, 2019              7:30 at OC
Tues. November 12, 2019          7:30 at OC
Tues. December 10, 2019          7:30 at OC

Tues. January 15, 2020         7:30 at OC   
Tues. February 19, 2020       7:30 at OC
Tues. March 19, 2020     
Annual General Meeting (combined meeting in Kelowna)  7:15 at OC    
Tues. April 16, 2020     
        7:30 at OC 
** Sat.  (Date to be ann.)      Gala Dinner (Kelowna 5PM)
Tues. June 18, 2020               7:30 at OC


                   
Meetings held in Penticton on the dates indicated at Okanagan College Penticton.
(* exceptions)
               
                   -- Summer Break --


Thurs. September 12, 2019    7:15 at OC
Thurs. October 10, 2019          7:15 at OC
Thurs. November 14, 2019      7:15 at OC
Thurs. December 12, 2019      7:15 at OC

Thurs. January 24, 2020     7:15 at OC
Thurs. February 21, 2020   7:15 at OC
*Tues. March 19, 2020     Annual General Meeting (combined meeting in Kelowna)  7:15 at OC  
Thurs. April 18, 2020            7:15 at OC
*Thurs. May 16, 2020  (in conjunction with the
                                     Meadowlark Outreach Event) 
           ** Sat.  (Date to be ann.)  Gala Dinner (Kelowna 5PM)
Thurs. June 20, 2020              7:15 at OC





Meetings held in Vernon on the dates indicated
at the OSC Okanagan Science Centre (* exceptions)
2704 Hwy 6, Vernon
 

                  -- Summer Break --

Wed. September 25, 2019            7:15 at OSC
Wed. October 30, 2019                  7:15 at OSC
Wed. November 27, 2019              7:15 at OSC
Wed. December 11, 2019              7:15 at OSC

Wed. January 29, 2020               7:15 at OSC
Wed. February 26, 2020             7:15 at OSC
*Tues. March 25, 2020     Annual General Meeting
 (combined meeting in Kelowna) 
7:15 at OC  
Wed. April 29, 2020                      7:15 at OSC
May 2020 Observing Session - Date to be announced

** Sat. (Date to be ann.) Gala Dinner (Kelowna 5PM)
Wed. June 17, 2020                      7:15 at OSC




* denotes the Annual General Meeting held at 7:15 at Okanagan College Kelowna

** denotes a combined meeting between the Kelowna, Penticton and Vernon Chapters

OKANAGAN OBSERVATORY

The Observatory www.okanaganobservatory.ca is in regular use, weather permitting. To learn how to access the location for observing please contact Guy Mackie at guy.m@shaw.ca. For the status of weekly public open nights call the Sky phone at at (250) 300-8SKY (8759) after 3:00PM Friday afternoons.