Home

About Us

President's Message

Minutes

Publications

Meetings

Observing

Image Gallery

Join Here

Sidewalk Astronomy

Public Outreach

Kids Astronomy Club

What's Up

Raffle

| Observatory |

Links & Other Centres

Weather

Clear Sky Clocks

Buy & Sell

Contacts




RASC OK Centre
Coming Meetings

Penticton meeting Thurs. May 16

Please note, this will be in conjunction with the
Meadowlark Festival Outreach Event.

Watch this space for time, place and details. 



Saturday, May 25
Annual Gala Observatory fundraising Dinner
 at the Kelowna Curling Club
This is a joint event for all three meeting groups

Special guest speaker Alan Dyer
on 'Chasing the Northern Lights'

Time: - 5pm Doors Open.  - Dinner 6.30pm  - Speaker 8pm

Vernon meeting Wed. June 12

Time: Novice meeting - 6.30pm  Regular Meeting - 7.15pm

The pre-meeting novice presentation will be member Jim Kanester presenting
'Using the Hand Controller on Your Go To Telescope'.

The main presentation will be “An Update on the Okanagan Observatory” with member Guy Mackie showing us the next steps in the Big White Road Observatory’s development.


The pre-meeting begins at 6:30 PM in the Heritage Hall of the Okanagan Science Centre (building to the right of the main Science Centre entrance on the northeast side of Polson Park just off Highway 6).


Kelowna  meeting Tues. June 18

Time: 7:30pm.  Location: Okanagan College, KLO Road, Kelowna. Room 368.

 The short program for this meeting will feature President Allen Royston showcasing some of his work with Digital Setting Circles.

The main program will be presented by John Carpenter entitled 'Across the Spectrum'
John will explore the electromagnetic spectrum and spectroscopy.

The meeting will be at 7:30pm in Room 368 at the Okanagan College KLO Campus.


Penticton meeting Thurs. June 20

Time: 7:15pm  Location: Okanagan College, Penticton

Watch this space for details on the meeting.. 

 The meeting will be held at 7.15pm in the C O2 meeting room in the Sunoka building 
of the Penticton campus of Okanagan College.


Vernon Meeting Group
OSC
- Okanagan Science Centre
2704 Hwy 6, Vernon
See map

Kelowna Meeting Group
Okanagan College
- Science building
KLO Road, Kelowna. 
See map


Penticton  Meeting Group
Okanagan College
- Sunoka Building
583 Duncan Ave. W. Penticton

See map

Meetings held in Kelowna on the  dates indicated  
at the
Okanagan College Science Building KLO Road

Tues. January 15, 2019         7:30 at OC   
Tues. February 19, 2019       7:30 at OC
Tues. March 19, 2019     
Annual General Meeting (combined meeting in Kelowna)  7:15 at OC    
Tues. April 16, 2019     
        7:30 at OC 
** Sat. May 25, 2019         Gala Dinner (Kelowna 5PM)
Tues. June 18, 2019               7:30 at OC

                -- Summer Break --

Tues. September 17, 2019        7:30 at OC
Tues. October 15, 2019              7:30 at OC
Tues. November 12, 2019          7:30 at OC
Tues. December 10, 2019          7:30 at OC


                   
Meetings held in Penticton on the dates indicated at Okanagan College Penticton.
(* exceptions)
Thurs. January 24, 2019     7:15 at OC
Thurs. February 21, 2019   7:15 at OC
*Tues. March 19, 2019     Annual General Meeting (combined meeting in Kelowna)  7:15 at OC  
Thurs. April 18, 2019            7:15 at OC
*Thurs. May 16, 2019 (in conjunction with the
                                     Meadowlark Outreach Event) 
           ** Sat. May 25, 2019    Gala Dinner (Kelowna 5PM)
Thurs. June 20, 2019              7:15 at OC

            -- Summer Break --

Thurs. September 12, 2019    7:15 at OC
Thurs. October 10, 2019          7:15 at OC
Thurs. November 14, 2019      7:15 at OC
Thurs. December 12, 2019      7:15 at OC




Meetings held in Vernon on the dates indicated
at the OSC Okanagan Science Centre (* exceptions)
2704 Hwy 6, Vernon
 
Wed. January 30, 2019               7:15 at OSC
Wed. February 27, 2019             7:15 at OSC
*Tues. March 19, 2019     Annual General Meeting
 (combined meeting in Kelowna) 
7:15 at OC  
Wed. April 24, 2019                      7:15 at OSC
** Sat. May 25, 2019      Gala Dinner (Kelowna 5PM)
Wed. June 12, 2019                      7:15 at OSC

                  -- Summer Break --

Wed. September 25, 2019            7:15 at OSC
Wed. October 30, 2019                  7:15 at OSC
Wed. November 27, 2019              7:15 at OSC
Wed. December 11, 2019              7:15 at OSC



* denotes the Annual General Meeting held at 7:15 at Okanagan College Kelowna

** denotes a combined meeting between the Kelowna, Penticton and Vernon Chapters

OKANAGAN OBSERVATORY

The Observatory www.okanaganobservatory.ca is in regular use, weather permitting. To learn how to access the location for observing please contact Guy Mackie at guy.m@shaw.ca. For the status of weekly public open nights call the Sky phone at at (250) 300-8SKY (8759) after 3:00PM Friday afternoons.